ZigZag ......

Discussion in 'World War 2' started by liverpool annie, Nov 28, 2008.

1. liverpool annie

liverpool annie New Member

The Biography @ Eddie Chapman

EDDIE CHAPMAN. A deserter from the Coldstream Guards in the 1930s he then turned to crime. A safecracker by profession and serving fourteen years in jail on Jersey in the Channel Islands, at that time under German occupation, he volunteered to spy for the Germans in England. He was trained at the Abwehr sabotage school at Nantes in France and then was parachuted into England on December 20, 1942, with a mission to blow up the De Havilland aircraft factory at Hatfield, in Hertfordshire, which was producing the new fighter-bomber, the Mosquito. After landing, he contacted British Intelligence who contrived a plan to blow up part of the factory not in use, giving the Germans the impression that the mission had succeeded. On returning to Jersey for more work, Eddie Chapman (Code Name 'ZigZag') was decorated with the German Iron Cross. After the war, Chapman was also given a British decoration, the only Englishman thus awarded! Later he set up a health farm and died aged 83 in 1997 leaving a wife and daughter

Eddie Chapman, 83, Safecracker and Spy - New York Times

2. liverpool annie

3. liverpool annie

Being a Stanley Kubrick fan .... I love the Clock Work Orange ........ most of Clockwork Orange was filmed on location - and I just found out ...... the Cat Lady's house is Shenley Lodge Hertfordshire

It's a now a private school !!

Kubrick Locations

4. liverpool annie

Whitehall 1944 !

http://www.bloomsbury.com/media/ZIGZAGdossierfinal.pdf

5. Brian S

Brian S Guest

Zig zag

Hi Annie,
    quite a boy by all appearances as there are no less than 10 Files in KV2 regarding his exploits.

6. Kyt

Kyt Άρης

7. Brian S

Brian S Guest

Zig zag

Eddie was dropped when MI5 discovered that he had been telling friends about his exploits as a spy.

8. Kyt

Kyt Άρης

Not exactly a wise move for a spy :)

9. Brian S