Over the top!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Jeff Simmons, Apr 15, 2010.

1. Jeff Simmons

Jeff Simmons New Member

I am a former news journalist and history teacher living in Ohio, USA. While I was unable to serve in the armed forces, I am fascinated by military history, especially the Great War. I am particularly interested in operations in the Ypres sector, including the Battle of Messines (which I consider to be one of the greatest feats of combat engineering in history). I'd like to hear from anyone who has similar interests.

2. Kitty

Kitty New Member

welcome to the forum Jeff, just dive right on in

3. John

John Active Member

Welcome to the forum Jeff and I am sure you will enjoy your stay.

4. Jeff Simmons

Jeff Simmons New Member

Thanks for your warm welcomes! I look forward to good discussions on the war, which most Americans cannot place in time or location(s). With the passing of the last veteran recently, I fear the memory of the sacrifices made by troops on both sides will disappear entirely. My specialty is the Ypres front, as I previously stated; I've yet to meet anyone -- other than college professors -- who can tell you where Ypres is located or what happened there. We need to keep the memory alive.

By the way, John, are those soldiers in your "in memory of..." list relatives of yours? I had one relative who served in the AEF; his name was Tam Simmons, and he was my great, great uncle. He lived in the mountains several miles on dirt roads from the town of Linden, WV. The only thing he ever said to me about his Army experience was that when he went to Ravenswood, WV (about two hours away on dirt roads) to catch the train to go for basic training, it was the farthest he'd ever been from home. I can't imagine what it must have been like for him when he landed in France!

5. John

John Active Member

Yes Jeff, they are all related to me. I still have more to enter as I do my family tree.

6. Jeff Simmons

Jeff Simmons New Member