Introduction of a new member

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Dan Mackay, Jun 29, 2013.

1. Dan Mackay

Dan Mackay New Member

Hello all,
    My name is Dan Mackay and I live In Calgary Canada. My main area of interest in World War Two aviation. I am an avid model builder and I'm always hunting reference material to assist me with my builds.
    My grandfather fought in the Great War. He immigrated alone to Canada from the UK just before the war broke out. When war broke out he volunteered and joined the Royal Canadian Army and went to the front lines where he fought and survived all four years of the conflict. He returned to the UK for a couple of years where he married and started his family before coming back to Canada. He found employment with CN Rail and worked there until retirement.
    My Father also joined the Royal Canadian Army in the late fourties and fought in the Korean War as an Army engineer. I have pictures of the bridges he helped build with Sherman easy eight tanks crossing over them. I also have pictures of the Half-track he tooled around in during the war.