HMAS Sydney II faked images

Discussion in 'World War 2' started by James, Apr 2, 2011.

1. James

James New Member

I have been researching (among other topics) HMAS Sydney's loss for over 14 years. I have attended the Senate Inquiry in 1997/98 and the Commission of Inquiry held recently. I have to say that without doubt the images displayed by the Finding Sydney Foundation received from David Mearns, are NOT of HMAS Sydney II. In fact, they are of several different ships at least four of which can be named, while others can be shown to be of different classes of ships. Even the extremely poor sonar image can be easily identified as either a battleship or pocket battleship (most likely the Bismarck) because of the hull shape, completely different to that of the sleek long narrow hull of a light cruiser. Among the images studied by the Defence, Scientific and Technical Organisation and the Royal Institute of Naval Architects, where they have provided precise measurements, one particular image shows the boot-topping, top of the armour, scuttles and the upper deck in one image. The measurements show beyond all doubt that there is a full deck missing, from boot-topping to upper deck only eight and a half feet whereas it should be at least 16 feet. There are over 200 pages of examples of mistakes in the images including the proof that the identification of both ships has been faked. The 08KO identification for the Kormoran cannot be correct because the ship was originally built as Steiermark two years before Kormoran was named. Likewise the only identification for the Sydney are the badges on the ship boats on the seabed. Oddly enough these badges do not exist in naval heraldry. Badges were required to be approved by the Admiralty Badge Committee, and each ship had its individual badge. The badge shown is the wrong one, wrong colours, wrong placement on the boats etc. Mearns, Lt Perryman, Peter Hore have were all involved in the search and have published books or report