2nd battalion - the rifle brigade

Discussion in 'Regiment Histories' started by royjo71, Oct 23, 2009.

1. royjo71

royjo71 New Member

Hello.
    I have just returned from a visit to my great great grandfathers grave in france. He was in the 2nd batallion of the rifle brigade and died on october 13th 1915. He is buried at Y farm cemetery, bois grenier, near armentieres. I have little or no knowledge of where he was when he died. Logic would dictate that he was on the artois front somewhere, possibly the battle of loos, although i can find no direct reference to the 2nd battalion rifles in the casualty list. My father says he died in the 1st somme battle, but geographically this doesnt make sense, although I know certain graves were moved into Y farm cemetery after the war. Is there anywhere I can go to find this out, short of buying the rifle brigade's ww1 history, which may or may not contain the information I need. For the record, his details are Rifleman J gorman (s/10892). Enlisted in liverpool.

Thanks

Roy Johnstone

2. liverpool annie

liverpool annie New Member

Hi Roy and welcome ! :)

How great that you were able to go and visit the grave ! .... can you give us a few more details ? where he came from etc ... and any other family stories you may have heard !

In Memory of
    Rifleman J GORMAN

S/10892, 2nd Bn., Rifle Brigade
    who died
    on 13 October 1915

Remembered with honour
    Y FARM MILITARY CEMETERY, BOIS-GRENIER

Annie :)

3. royjo71

royjo71 New Member

details are a bit sketchy. My nan was born in october 1915, and therefore never met her dad. she visited the grave in 1986. No photos or anything. Her mum remarried and as was the way, children of a 1st marriage were treated little better than servants, turning her into the hardened woman i knew as a child. I know he was born and enlisted in liverpool, but apart from his army number and the grave details I have posted, ive got little else to go on.

Roy.

4. liverpool annie