Rifle Brigade 10th Battalion

Discussion in 'Looking for someone' started by Wendyonthesouthcoast, Jul 6, 2009.

1. I'm going to Kew this Saturday my first visit to try & find out about my Great Grandfather Bertram George Martin b 1877 killed in action 21.11.1917 service number P/854 or P/354. Can anyone give me some tips on what to do I'm a novice at this. My Dad said his Grandfather was the 'black sheep of the family' and no one ever discussed him I'd like to try & find out why?:confused:

thanks Wendy

2. liverpool annie

liverpool annie New Member

Hi Wendy and welcome ! :)

P/854 medal roll says just 10th overseas - but he most definitely would have been in the 16th first which was formed in the St. Pancras area !

Do you have that already ?

I'm sure Andy will drop by soon ..... he'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know !! :D:D

Annie

3. Andy Pay

Andy Pay Member

Hi Wendy,
    Welcome to the forum. I had posted a long reply out with the details of your Great Grandfathers record only for the forum not too accept it and needing to log in again.
    He originally enlisted in the 16th Rifle Brigade and after this moved around a little, going to the 17th Rifle Brigade, 2nd (Home Service) Northamptonshire Regiment, 5th Rifle Brigade, 12th Rifle Brigade and then the 10th Rifle Brigade. Going overseas on the 7/2/17 and arriving in Havre on the 8/2/17 to the 47th Infantry Base Depot.
    Certainly his conduct sheets leave a bit of a trail of absent off leave, dirty rifle, bad language to an N.C.O., unwashed, late on parade, in bed against orders for which he received numerous small sentences of confined to barracks, forfeiting 7 days pay but nothing serious enough to call him the black sheep during his time in the Military. He was only 19 on enlistment so I do not know if he was a bit of a tearaway before his military service.