Help! Bomber Command Experts

Discussion in 'World War 2' started by nabber, Dec 5, 2009.

1. nabber

nabber New Member

I was advised to post on this site, and having seen the wealth of knowledge and information available I am very hopeful that I will be able to learn more about a family friend who served in Bomber Command during the war. The only information I have, is obtained from some photographs found recently after a family bereavement.

It would appear that Barry Wood served as an Air Gunner in both Halifax and Lancasters at Linton on Ouse, and at Holme on Spalding Moor.
    Barry survived the war, but I have no knowledge of his current whereabouts, or indeed if he is still alive.
    The only aircraft identification I have is "A for Apple" on the side of a Halifax with squadron code letters "MP" which I believe is 76 Squadron.

Please see the photographs below, I look forward to learning more from this forum,

Regards Nabber :help:

Crew member at Benningborough Hall, Linton
    [​IMG]
    A for Apple and Crew ( Barry on extreme left)
    [​IMG]
    A for Apple ( A-MP )
    [​IMG]
    A for Apple missing on operations, Cassel October 2nd/3rd 19??
    [​IMG]
    The Men who flew her, and the Men who kept her flying
    [​IMG]
    The Crew at Benningborough Hall, Linton
    [​IMG]

2. CXX

CXX New Member

Hello Nabber,

Welcome to the forum.

As far as the loss of A-Apple is concerned I have the following......

3-4 October 1943

76 squadron
    Halifax V DK203 MP-A
    Op. Kassel

Lt. N S D. Eckoff RNAF +
    Sgt. A. Hayes inj
    Sgt. S. Meieran RNAF pow
    Sgt. R. Coupe pow
    Sgt. J. Skjelanger RNAF pow
    Sgt. C H E. Coster pow
    F/O. M G. Sheerman +